

2017-2018

ACTIVITY REPORT

ORIENTATION PROGRAMME

The Philosophy Department organized an Orientation Program for the first year undergraduate students on 8th July,2017 in the College premises. It was a two hour interaction session facilitated by the second and third year students. About 11 newly admitted students were present in this programme.

The session commenced with the formal introduction of the faculty members of the department. At the very outset, Principal Dr. Sukdeb Ghosh delivered his welcome address. He welcome and congratulated all newly admitted students. Principal, in his remarks suggested the ways through which the students can mould themselves through academic activities of the institution. Head, department of Philosophy Dr. Anita Das explained the Semester and examination pattern. One of the faculty members department of Philosophy, Smt Chandrani Ghosh explained the syllabus and class routine. Gita Rani Jana motivated the students through her very attractive speech.

Towards the end of the session, second and third year students addressed the students and interacted with them. The students were informed regarding the course structure, workshops held during the year. Students got motivated, pleased and enriched with this programme.



TEACHERS DAY CELEBRATION

In India 5^{th} September celebrated as Teachers' Day as a mark of tribute to the contribution made by teachers to the society. 5^{th} September is the birthday of a great teacher Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.

Teachers mould the lives of the students by guiding them, by enriching their personalities, by imparting ethical and moral values and have more influence on them.

The teacher's day was celebrated by the students of Philosophy department on 5th September, 2017. About 26 students were present in this programme.

All students who had become teachers on that day had delivered lectures very gracefully and with full dedication. The students had actively participated in the celebration. All faculty members and students had cut the cake as a part of celebration.

QUIZ COMPETITION

Quiz Competition was organized by the department of Philosophy on 12thSeptember,2017. All Philosophy Hons. Students participated in the competition.

It was a 3 stage competition which covered the areas of Philosophy. About24 students participated in this competition. There were a total of 4 teams. Every team had 6 members. The judging panel consisted of 3 judges. The competition was start at 11.30 AM, This quiz winded up at 2 PM. And results were to be declared at 2.30 PM. It was very informative and knowledge enriching competition for the participants. All Philosophy Hons. Students participated in the competition.

Team-A: Priyanka Biswas, Mousumi Khatun, Shreyasi Biswas, Diya Dey, Swet Laskar, Debashis Mondal.

Team- B: Mousumi Bala, Banani Das, Suman Mondol, Subhankar BhowalShilpa Ghosh, Mantu Biswas.

Team-C :Shreyashi Kundu, Kousik Mondol, Riya Biswas, Susmita Biswas, Satyajit Roy, Biplab Pare.

Team- D: Moumita Biswas, Kousik Mondol, Subrata Bala, Dipannita Biswas, Priyanka Das, Dipa Biswas.

Team – C won the competition.





Students' Seminar

A one day students seminar was organized by the department of Philosophy on 13th December, 2017. The topic of the seminar was 'MORAL VALUES'. All Philosophy Hons. Students participated in the seminar.

It was started with an inaugural lecture by the honorable Principal. Our students also made this event highly successful with their spontaneous participation. They presented their views clearly and discussed many things which are extremely relevant in our daily life.

Name of the Participants:

1st Year Honours

- 1. Priyanka Biswas
- 2. Mousumi Khatun
- 3. Shreyasi Biswas
- 4. Diya Dey
- 5. Swet Laskar
- 6. Debashis Mondal.
- 7. Shreyashi Kundu,
- 8. Riya Biswas,
- 9. Dipa Biswas
- 10. Susmita Biswas,
- 11. Satyajit Roy.

2nd Year Honours

- 1. Moumita Biswas
- 2. Priyanka Das
- 3. Kousik Mondol,
- 4. Mousumi Dutta
- 5. Dipannita Biswas

3rd Year Honours

- 1. Biplab Pare
- 2. Moumita Biswas,
- 3. Kousik Mondol,
- 4. Subrata Bala,
- 5. Mousumi Bala
- 6. Shilpa Ghosh,
- 7. Banani Das
- 8. Suman Mondol
- 9. Mantu Biswas
- 10. . Subhankar Bhowal